Cherry Mobile Apollo: My First Impressions

I was able to get a Cherry Mobile Apollo yesterday. The phone was launched about a month ago with two other phones – the Cherry Mobile Flare 2.0 and Flare 2X. Priced at P6,999, the Apollo is the most affordable smartphone with a 12 megapixel camera backed by a Back Side Illumination (BSI) sensor.

Image

Cherry Mobile Apollo specs:

  • 1.2 GHz Quad Core MediaTek MT6589 processor
  • PowerVR SGX544 processor
  • 1GB RAM
  • 4GB internal storage expandable via MicroSD up to 32GB
  • 4.5 inch HD LCD display (720 x 1280 pixels) IPS LCD display
  • 12 megapixel rear facing camera with autofocus and LED flash
  • 5 megapixel front facing camera
  • HSPA+, Bluetooth, Wi-FI hotspot, Wi-Fi
  • GPS, A-GPS
  • Dual Sim, Dual Standby
  • 1,800 mAh battery
  • Android 4.2 Jellybean
  • SRP: P6,999

Image

My First Impression:

Its a pretty solid device! The phone attracts so much fingerprints and its prone to scratch. Good thing though, the screen is said to be scratch resistant. The 4,5 inch IPS HD display, which remains to be sweet spot for many Android users, is just stunning. Watching movies, playing games (although I haven’t tried that yet), and browsing through photos would be a great experience.

Image

The Cherry Mobile Apollo beside the Apple iPhone 5

i have yet to test the camera, performance, battery life, call quality, keyboard so I cannot comment on this device. I will be flying to Bangkok for a week to relax from work with my family. I will be bringing this device with me along with the Gionee ELife E6 which I am also reviewing this time for Unbox.

Watch out for my review next week.

One response to “Cherry Mobile Apollo: My First Impressions

Leave a Reply

