Samsung Galaxy Core Short Hands On Review

Someone from my family bought a Samsung Galaxy Core. Its a mid-range phone but entry level specs. I asked the owner why did she bought this phone over other brands that offer better specs with the same price. Well, according to her, she is brand conscious and never liked local brands. (Bratty!) (Boo!) 🙂

Image

I was able to play around with the phone. So here are the specs and my initial impressions.

Samsung Galaxy Core specs:

  • 1.2GHz Dual Core Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 processor
  • Adreno 203 graphics
  • 1GB RAM
  • 8GB internal memory expandable up to 64GB
  • 4.3 inch WVGA TFT display (480 x 800 pixels) 217 ppi
  • 5 megapixel rear camera with autofocus and LED flash
  • VGA front facing camera
  • Dual SIM
  • 3G/HSDPA, WiFi, WiFi hotspot, Bluetooth 3.0
  • GPS, A-GPS
  • 1,800 mAh battery
  • Android 4.1 Jellybean

Image

Design and Build Quality – There is nothing new here. Just like any other Galaxy smartphone, it is made of cheap and shiny plastic which was been criticized by bloggers on all Samsung devices for years.

Display – The 4.3 inch TFT display is not the sharpest and most vibrant screen out there but its generally decent. Seeing the phone for the first time, I find it really small because I’m used to the Galaxy Note 3’s screen. I’m just quite disappointed there’s no light sensor which means there’s no auto brightness feature.

Performance – I noticed some noticeable lags probably because of Samsung’s heavily customized UI on top of Android. I also haven’t tried this phone on gaming because I only had a short time with it.

Camera – It decent but with its pricetag, you can find other phones from local brands with better cameras.

Battery – I haven’t fully tested the battery but during my time with it, the performance is quite average.

I will be having more time with it in the coming days so watch out for a more comprehensive review about this phone soon.

Leave a Reply

