FilipinoTechAddict Rants: What’s Wrong With Globe?!?

Blogging has become my passion for almost a year now. I got inspired to create this blog and share my addiction to gadgets when I met the people behind Unbox.ph, the 2nd most read local tech blog in the country with more than a million monthly readers. Being a blogger, it is essential for me that I have my laptop and mobile phones with me all the time. Of course, I do need a reliable mobile internet service.

globe_telecom_logo_detail

I have been a Globe subscriber for 11 years now. I left Smart in 2003 because of my growing number of phonebook contacts who are Globe subscribers. During that time, it is cheaper to call a fellow Globe subscriber. When unli services were offered by Globe in 2005, I decided to renew my contract with them and even got the hottest phone. I never had problems with the service because it was so good. Signal was excellent in the areas where I go, call quality was good and receiving/sending text messages are smooth. Globe was even the first telco to introduce HSPA+, an internet standard faster than ordinary 3G. Man, internet was so fast! When I renewed my subscription with them, I even upgraded to a higher plan with unlimited internet.

Screenshot_2014-02-24-16-42-21

Globe’s HSPA+ speed test in our office in Ayala Ave, Makati City

Globe had network problems in 2012 due to its network modernization program in which I do expect and understand. I was looking forward when the upgrade is over, better service will follow. Pero, ANYARE?!? Globe surprised its subscribers when it announced its new Fair Use Policy (FUP) that limits a subscriber’s internet usage. Once you reach 1GB of data transfer a day, your LTE or HSPA+ connection will be downgraded to 2G speeds. Angry subscribers have laid down their rants over the internet. Many have switched to rival Smart Communications in order to get a reliable connection.

It pissed me off when I received this text message:

screenshot_2014-01-27-18-07-5811

I quickly removed my Globe postpaid SIM and inserted my Smart postpaid SIM. About 2 years ago, I applied for a Smart Freedom Plan in order for me stay connected in rural areas. We all know how extensive Smart’s coverage is. It was eventually been upgraded to All-In Plan 500.  I started researching about Globe and Smart’s FUP wrote articles about it

Related article – FILIPINOTECHADDICT RANTS: MY TAKE ON GLOBE’S 1GB PER DAY BANDWIDTH CAP

Related article – WHY SMART’S FAIR USE POLICY IS BETTER THAN GLOBE

My Smart All-in Plan 500 is quite underwhelming compared to my Globe bigger and costly postpaid plan. But I am so glad that I got a Smart plan because it saved me from frustration and disappointment. Now, I am a happy Smart subscriber. Smart’s LTE is super fast! I am getting 20 to 30Mbps and better call quality. Yes, Smart has a bandwidth cap too like Globe but it does not cover VAS (value added service). Internet bundles like LTE 995 or anything under Flexibundles are exempted from Smart’s 1.5GB a day or a month cap.

txtmessage

A text message thread between the author and his friend.

I have been receiving complains from friends and family about Globe’s services recently. My good friend said he has been receiving poor internet connection in their area where Globe used to have fast connection. I had so many encounters that I can’t connect to my mother’s number because she’s “out of reach” and later on finding out that she has no signal even in Makati area. Another friend has been receiving delayed text messages. What’s happening to Globe?!?

Screenshot_2014-02-25-13-51-44

A disappointed Globe subscriber ranting on Instagram.

The problem is I can’t discontinue my Globe postpaid plan because I’m still bound within my contract until October 2014. I’m currently paying P2,500 a month for my Globe service and P1,500 a month for my Smart. Grabe! Ang gastos! But despite Globe’s poor service, I still remain positive that Globe can resolve these problems. I hope they can solve it pretty soon or else they might lose many of their nearly 40 Million subscribers.

Leave a Reply

